IT WAS A GOOD GIMMICK

The absolute silence of the British Council Library with the gamut of books, is where I immerse myself in the world of my  choice. I was doing a six month G-MAT training course to keep myself occupied and prepared for my further studies.

On a mundane Monday morning I reached British Council late because of the heavy traffic and my miscalculation of time, ran to the library to issue a book for my language class. Funnily while searching for the particular book I required, came across a hard bound paperback with the tittle reading “Your Future Is Here”. Lying lazily and haphazardly on the table in front of my G-MAT section. Intrigued, I picked up the book and opened to the first page, completely forgetting about how I have to rush to my class on the 6th floor of the building. The first page read, “Let’s rewind . .” I turned to the next page, blank, the next one, blank. Henceforth all the pages were just BLANK. It was a good gimmick but I put it back and pulled out my heavy book of vocabulary, the one I needed for today’s class.  Mrs. Joseph like always did not say a word while issuing the book and took the library card and a signed due slip. Class would start in 5 minutes and was 6 floors up. On the 3rd floor, I realized I had left my only pen on her desk and ran back down to the library.  As I approached the desk someone was leaving.  Our eyes met and I looked into my own eyes in the absence of a mirror for the first time.

Stunned, I did not know what to feel and shouted cuss words involuntarily.

“ Shhh!.” said Mrs.Joseph

“What is happening to me?”

“ Put this issue card back in the first book you took, I should have checked, sorry ”

 I snatched the card, ran back to the shelf and pulled out the book and placed the card.  Nothing happened and I ran out to her desk again. She didn’t speak or exchange glances. Simply returned my book.  Scared, I looked at my watch. The class would start in 5 minutes, again.

Leave a comment